Phantom Breaker: Battle Grounds Review

Stream:

News Bot

Your News Bitch
Console: Headset:
Reviewed on PlayStation Vita
→ August 21, 2014 I was disappointed almost immediately after I started playing Phantom Breaker: Battle Grounds. This freshly localized Japanese beat-’em-up (one of the very first Phantom Breaker appearances in the west) is fun in short bursts, but it's also profoundly imbalanced and excessively button-mashy.
I was surprised by how easily I plowed through enemies and bosses alike; I played the entire campaign on normal difficulty by myself in under two hours, and I didn't die once. So I started again on hard difficulty and, a few stages in, realized that the situation hadn't changed much, especially because I was given access to my buffed-out character from my previous playthrough. Button mashing may not be the most egregious charge to level against a game like this, but the best in the genre -- Double Dragon, Castle Crashers, TMNT, and the like -- are far more strategic, and virtually all of them are more of a challenge.
Battle Grounds’ story is also a letdown. It’s long-winded, confusing, and unimportant. A few stages in, I used my freshly practiced button-mashing skills just to get through dialogue and back into the action. Purists who want to engage with the plot will like that the original (albeit limited) Japanese voice tracks are intact; then again, unless quite a bit is lost in the translation, I can’t imagine this story is worth following in any language.
The characters you have to select from are all nicely designed and animated, but the way they play makes them somewhat indistinguishable from one another. I did enjoy the adventure's various locales, however, which were vividly colored and drenched in an old-school aesthetic we don't see much of these days. Likewise, enemy designs were strange, but fittingly so, and I was impressed by the visual variety of opponents I was pitted against.